Drake Athletics Honors Student-Athletes At Annual End of Year Banquet Presented by Daktronics

Tag: 上海后花园WQ

first_imgStory Links The Bulldog Way Players’ Choice Award, was presented for the fourth-consecutive year to an athlete from each team in the Drake athletic department, who has distinguished themselves on and off the field in living out the vision and values expressed in the Bulldog Way. Student-athletes were nominated by their teammates and the student-athlete receiving the most votes was recognized. They were:Women’s Basketball – Caitlin IngleMen’s Basketball – A.J. RutterCheerleading – Taylor HambergMen’s Cross Country  and Track & Field – Reed FischerWomen’s Cross Country at Track & Field – Taryn RolleFootball – Sean LynchMen’s Golf – Kyle MacDonaldWomen’s Golf – Madison GlennieRowing – Mikaela JanesMen’s Soccer – Ben TroesterWomen’s Soccer – Sarah Grace NicholsonSoftball – Maddy HooymanMen’s Tennis – Tom HandsWomen’s Tennis – Mela JaglarzVolleyball – Grace Schofield Finally, Mr. Drake himself, Paul Morrison, honored this year’s four-year letterwinners. This year’s honorees include 26 student-athletes that have reached one of the pinnacles of athletic success at Drake in earning a letter during all four years of competition and being among the finest of the more than 5,000 letterwinners that have represented Drake University. Below are those student-athletes that Mr. Morrison bestowed with fourth letter.  Below are the individual honorees from each sport.Women’s Basketball – Cortni RushMen’s Basketball – Reed TimmerWomen’s Soccer – Brook SalisburyMen’s Soccer – Ben TroesterVolleyball – Odessa CodyRowing – Gabrielle BrodekSoftball – Sarah MaddoxWomen’s Track and Field – Sammy NielsonMen’s Track and Field: Dominic LombardiWomen’s Cross Country – Bailee CoferMen’s Cross Country – George WebbFootball – Eric SaubertMen’s Golf: Karter SmithWomen’s Golf: Aimee GerschkeMen’s Tennis: Vinny GillespieWomen’s Tennis: Joely LomasCheer: Madeline Kinnick Photo Gallery Drake’s strength and conditioning staff also recognized its each team’s top performer in the weight room as well as the department’s strength and conditioning athletes of the year, Odessa Cody (Volleyball) and Eric Saubert (Football). Jacob Enevold – Men’s BasketballCaitlin Ingle – Women’s BasketballLizzy Wendell – Women’s BasketballConley Wilkins – FootballTaylor Coleman – FootballMichael Roane – FootballEric Saubert – FootballCaz Zyks – FootballGabrielle Brodek – RowingKerstin Donat – RowingSarah Larson – RowingBen LeMay – Men’s SoccerDarrin MacLeod – Men’s SoccerMueng Sunday – Men’s SoccerEric Williams – Men’s SoccerKayla Armstrong – Women’s SoccerBrooke Dennis – Women’s SoccerAlex Freeman – Women’s SoccerSarah Grace Nicholson – Women’s SoccerKaitlyn Finneran – SoftballMaddie Hooyman – SoftballMegan  Sowa – SoftballReed Fischer – Track & FieldJohnathan Osifuye-White – Track & FieldMakena Schoene – VolleyballMichelle Thommi – Volleyballcenter_img Eight student-athletes were presented the MVC Presidents Council Award, for seniors or those within 18 hours of graduation, who have achieved a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.80 or higher and participated in athletics for a minimum of two years. Honored were AJ Rutter (men’s basketball), Caitlin Ingle (women’s basketball), Reed Fischer (men’s cross country and track & field), Shelby Varney (women’s cross country and track & field), Nick Manzoni (men’s soccer), Alex Prusa (men’s soccer), Kaitlyn Finneran (softball) and Capris Quaites (volleyball). With spring sports still competing, the Bulldogs will announce additional awards during the annual Welcome Back Picnic in the fall. There, Drake will honor the Dixie Byers Comeback Player of the Year, the Howlett Awards given to the Student-Athletes of the Year, the Newcomer of the Year Award and the Bulldog Way Director’s Cup. Print Friendly Version DES MOINES, Iowa – The Drake University athletic department honored its student-athletes Sunday, May 7, with the annual year end banquet presented by Daktronics. A wide array of awards and honors were handed out as the Bulldogs put the finishing touches on a successful 2016-17 season in competition and in the classroom. SAAC representatives Madison Glennie and Ben Troester recognized the 16 Bulldogs listed below who have maintained a cumulative GPA of 4.0. Jacob Bacon, Football, Actuarial ScienceAlison Burke, Women’s Soccer, Accounting & LawAshlie Chambers, Softball, Master of Business AdministrationZachary Conroy, Men’s Soccer, BiologyLinda Fiorito, Women’s Soccer, MarketingNicholas Girardi, Men’s Basketball, NeuroscienceSigurlaug Jonsdottir, Women’s Golf, Mathematics & ChemistryVanessa Kavan, Women’s Soccer, MarketingIsaiah Kent-Schneider, Football, Environmental ScienceHaley Morris, Women’s Soccer, Marketing & AdvertisingSara Rhine, Women’s Basketball, Elementary EducationAmanda Roemmich, Softball, BiologyAllison Smith, Women’s Soccer, Finance & International BusinessAleksi Tuominen, Men’s Soccer, Health ScienceBenjamin Troester, Men’s Soccer, Accounting & FinanceMadison Glennie, Women’s Golf, English & Law, Politics and Society Following a brief dinner, the evening’s keynote speaker, Terry Robinson, spoke about his journey as a Drake student-athlete and the transition to life after athletics. Robinson was a men’s basketball student-athlete at Drake in the late 1980s and current co-founder of the LET Group.last_img read more