Connecticut River Joint Commissions Elect New Officers

Tag: 上海419龙凤会所

first_imgThe Connecticut River Joint Commissions elected new officers at their recent annual meeting. The NH Connecticut River Commission has elected Glenn English of Haverhill as its new chair, and its Vermont counterpart has re-elected Gary Moore of Bradford.English, who has served as Haverhill’s Town Manager since 1995, represents municipal interests on the Connecticut River Scenic Byway Council and has been a strong voice for economic development through heritage tourism on both sides of the Connecticut River. A member of the board of North Country Council, he will serve as vice-president of the combined river commissions. He succeeds Cheston Newbold of Cornish.”The Connecticut River is the environmental, economic, recreational, historical, and cultural backbone of this Valley, ” English observes. “It is our collective job to make sure that it continues to be so. It has been a pleasure to work with so many people who have dedicated a large portion of their lives to the preservation and responsible use of this great resource. I will certainly continue to do everything I can to be of some small help in this effort.”Cleve Kapala of Hopkinton, Director of Government Affairs and Relicensing for USGen New England, was elected as NH Commission Vice Chair. Kapala has also been a director of the New England Salmon Association, member of the board of trustees of the New Hampshire chapter of The Nature Conservancy, and former Director of Education & Policy for the Society for the Protection of New Hampshire Forests.George Watkins of Walpole was re-elected as Secretary/ Treasurer of the NH Commission. Watkins is a member of the board of the Connecticut River Watershed Council.Vermont’s Connecticut River Watershed Advisory Commission has re-elected Gary Moore of Bradford as its chair. A Bradford native and his town’s emergency management coordinator, Moore has served on all three of the government commissions focused on New England’s largest river, including the four-state Connecticut River Flood Control Commission and the Connecticut River Atlantic Salmon Commission. Moore has also served as commissioner of Vermont’s Department of Fish & Wildlife, chair of the Vermont Water Resources Board, and on the board of the Vermont State Colleges System. Moore will serve his second term as President of the Connecticut River Joint Commissions.Gayle Ottmann of Quechee has been re-elected Vice-Chair of the VT Commission. Executive Director of the Hartford Area Chamber of Commerce and Hartford Selectwoman, she sits on the Scenic Byway Council Steering Committee.Stephen Walasewicz of Weathersfield, natural resources planner at Saint-Gaudens National Historic Site, has been elected Secretary/Treasurer of the VT Commission.The Connecticut River Joint Commissions are composed of thirty volunteer members, fifteen appointed by the governors of each of the Twin States. They are business people, landowners, conservationists, and citizens who live and work in the valley and are committed to its future.last_img read more